Progressive Railroading


Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

All fields are required.

Rail News Home Rail Industry Trends


Rail News: Rail Industry Trends

Short line association to hand out annual safety awards

Last week, the American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association (ASLRRA) announced the winners of its 2004 safety awards. Co-sponsored by the National Academy of Railroad Sciences and MARSH USA Inc., and divided into five categories, the awards recognize regionals' and short lines' safety performance based on employee injuries per manhours.

The zero-to-10,000 manhours category winners are:
• gold — the 73-mile Chesapeake & Albemarie Railroad Co.;
• silver — the 13-mile Newburgh & South Shore Railroad Ltd.;
• bronze — the 67-mile Gulf, Colorado & San Saba Railway; and
• copper — the 40-mile Florida Midland Railroad Co. Inc.

In the 10,001-to-50,000 manhours category, winners are:
• gold — the 180-mile Western New York & Pennsylvania Railroad;
• silver — the 15-mile Chattahooche Industrial Railroad;
• bronze — the 140-mile Aberdeen, Carolina & Western Railroad Co.; and
• copper — the 64-mile Livonia, Avon & Lakeville Railroad Corp.

The 50,001-to-250,000 manhours category winners are:
• gold — the 187-mile Dallas, Garland & Northeastern Railroad Inc.;
• silver — the 160-mile Columbus & Ohio River Railroad Co.;
• bronze — the 276-mile Utah Railway Co.; and
• copper — the 286-mile Nebraska Central Railroad Co.

In the more than 250,000 manhours category, winners are:
• gold — the 840-mile Wheeling & Lake Erie Railway Co.;
• silver — the 545-mile Providence & Worcester Railroad Co.;
• bronze — the 400-mile New York, Susquehanna & Western Railway Corp.; and
• copper — the 552-mile Iowa Interstate Railroad Ltd.

Finally, switching and terminal railroad winners are:
• gold — Terminal Railroad Association of St. Louis;
• silver — The Belt Railway Co. of Chicago;
• bronze — Indiana Harbor Belt Railroad Co.; and
• copper — Birmingham Southern Railroad Co.

On April 4, ASLRRA will present the awards at its annual meeting in Anaheim, Calif.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 3/28/2005