Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Railroading People


Rail News: Railroading People

Hoglander becomes NMB chairman again; Pickett retains post as BRS president


The National Mediation Board (NMB) earlier this month named Harry Hoglander chairman, effective through June 30, 2015. Linda Puchala and Nicholas Geale remain board members.

A NMB member since August 2002, Hoglander previously served as chairman in 2004-05, 2007-08, 2010-11 and 2012-13. He is serving his fourth term as a board member.

Prior to joining the NMB, Hoglander was a legislative specialist in the office of U.S. Rep. John Tierney (D-Mass.), where he was responsible for transportation issues, including those involving rail, aviation and maritime. He previously was a captain for Trans World Airline and executive vice president of the Air Line Pilots Association. Hoglander also was a pilot in the U.S. Air Force, retiring with the rank of lieutenant colonel.
An independent federal agency established by the Railway Labor Act, the NMB governs labor-management relations for the railroad and airline industries.

Meanwhile, Brotherhood of Railroad Signalmen (BRS) members have re-elected W. Dan Pickett as president for the next four years. He first assumed the presidency in 1992 after serving as the union's southeast region vice president.

BRS members also re-elected Jerry Boles as secretary-treasurer, a post he has held since October 2011, and re-elected the following vice presidents: Kelly Haley, VP-headquarters; John Bragg, VP-NRAB; Mark Ciurej, VP-West; Dennis Boston, VP-Commuter, Passenger, Transit/Political Director; Floyd Mason, VP-East; and Joe Mattingly, VP-Midwest.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 7/17/2014