Progressive Railroading


Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

All fields are required.

Rail News Home Intermodal


Rail News: Intermodal

IANA installs Union Pacific's Michaels as chair, elects officers

The Intermodal Association of North America's (IANA) board has elected Barry Michaels chairman to succeed David Manning.

President of Tennessee Express Inc., Manning will continue to serve on the 13-member board. Vice president of intermodal operations for Union Pacific Railroad, Michaels previously was chairman in 2004 and 2005, and won IANA's Silver Kingpin Award in 2011.

The board also elected Phil Shook, director of intermodal operations for C.H. Robinson Worldwide, vice chairman, and Don Aiken, VP of intermodal operations for Schneider National Inc., treasurer.

In addition, two board members were re-elected to three-year terms: Kevin Lhotak, president of Reliable Transportation Specialists, and Michael Wilson, senior VP for Hamburg Sud North America.

The continuing board members are: Jordan Ayers, managing director for Quest Capital Group L.L.C.; Jeffrey Brashares, SVP of sales and national accounts for TTS L.L.C.; William Clement, VP of intermodal for CSX Transportation; Robert Huffman, VP of intermodal operations for Norfolk Southern Corp.; Jenny Johnson, VP of Intermodal Support Services Inc.; Frank Sonzala, executive VP for Pressure Systems International Inc.; and Patrick Valentine, director of safety and regulatory issues for Direct ChassisLink Inc.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 1/15/2013