Progressive Railroading


Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

All fields are required.

Rail News Home Rail Industry Trends


Rail News: Rail Industry Trends

APTA lauds 'best of the best' agencies and industry leaders

Earlier this week, the American Public Transportation Association (APTA) honored some of the transit industry's best — agencies, as well as people — during the organization's 2007 annual meeting in Charlotte, N.C.

APTA lauded four public transportation agencies, competing in four different categories based on annual ridership, as the "best transit agencies in North America." This year's winners:

• City of Elk Grove, Transit Services, Elk Grove, Calif., for agencies providing fewer than 1 million annual passenger trips;

• St. Cloud Metropolitan Transit Commission, St. Cloud, Minn., for agencies providing more than 1 million and fewer than 4 million annual passenger trips;

• Capital Area Transportation Authority, Lansing, Mich., for agencies providing more than 4 million but fewer than 30 million annual passenger trips; and

• Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority, Cleveland, for agencies providing more than 30 million annual passenger trips.

APTA also presented the 2007 Innovation Award to Greater Bridgeport Transit Authority, Bridgeport, Conn., and Utah Transit Authority, Salt Lake City.

In addition, the association recognized six individuals whose contributions have "greatly advanced public transportation":

• J. Barry Barker, executive director, Transit Authority of River City, Louisville, Ky., who received the 2007 Outstanding Public Transportation Manager Award;

• Former Amtrak President and longtime transit agency exec David Gunn, who was inducted into the APTA Hall of Fame;

• F. Charles Emery, chairman of the Denton County Transportation Authority, Lewisville, Texas, who was named the 2007 recipient Outstanding Public Transportation Board Member;

• Kim Green, president, GFI GENFARE, Elk Grove Village, Ill., who received the 2007 Outstanding Public Transportation Business Member Award;

• Lane Beattie, president and chief executive officer of the Salt Lake Chamber, who received thee 2007 Local Distinguished Service Awards; and

• William Valentine, chairman, Helmuth, Obata & Kassabaum, San Francisco, who received the 2007 Outstanding Business Executive of the Year Award.

"This year's winners are the 'best of the best' of the public transportation industry," said APTA President William Millar. "These accomplished individuals and transit agencies have contributed greatly to advancing public transportation in their local communities and across the country and deserve national recognition."

For more information on this year's winners, click here.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 10/10/2007