Progressive Railroading


Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

All fields are required.

Rail News Home Rail Industry Trends


Rail News: Rail Industry Trends

Intermodal Association of North America installs officers and directors, bestows Silver Kingpin Award

The Intermodal Association of North America (IANA) elected officers and directors, and named the Silver Kingpin Award recipient at the association's 2007 Intermodal Expo held the past few days in Atlanta.

Board members elected Theodore Prince, president of Consolidated Chassis Management L.L.C., as chairman for the coming year. He succeeds outgoing Chairman Frank Sonzala, executive vice president of Pressure Systems International Inc., who will remain on the board.

Members also elected Greg Stefflre, chief executive officer of Rail Delivery Services Inc., as vice chairman; and Scott Smith, director of logistics services-Americas for APL Ltd., as treasurer. Smith succeeds Richard Coleman, president of ContainerPort Group Inc., who served as treasurer the past two years and is leaving the board.

In addition, members elected four new directors, who'll serve three-year terms: David Manning, president of TCW/Tennessee Express; Jenny Johnson, vice president of Intermodal Support Services Inc.; Stephen Branscum, group VP-consumer products for BNSF Railway Co.; and David Howland, VP of rail management for Optimodal L.L.C.

Meanwhile, IANA named the Hub Group Inc.'s Thomas Hardin as the 2007 winner of the Silver Kingpin Award, which recognizes individuals who make significant, long-term contributions to the intermodal industry.

Hardin played a key role in building the Hub Group, an intermodal marketing company based in Downers Grove, Ill., from a three-person agency into a publicly traded firm, IANA said. He joined the company as general manager in 1972 and now serves as president of rail affairs.

Hardin helped facilitate strong intermodal traffic growth by introducing the concept of volume rates, and was one of the first executives to effectively coordinate the marketing and local trucking components of intermodal service, IANA said. He currently serves on the board of the University of Denver's Intermodal Transportation Institute.

"This year's award is noteworthy because there never has been a repeat winner for career service at the same company," said Sonzala. "Nine years ago, the Hub Group's founder, Phil Yeager, received his Silver Kingpin recognition."

Other past winners of the award — which was established in 1977 — include intermodal pioneer Gordon Miller, trucking industry duo Greg and Judy Stefflre, long-time Mi-Jack Products Inc. employee Raymond Tippit Sr., Rail Management Services Inc. President John Gray and Progressive Railroading co-founder Frank Richter.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 11/14/2007