Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Railroading People


Rail News: Railroading People

Virginia transportation commission elects officers, outlines objectives for 2006


At its Jan. 5 meeting, the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission (NVTC) elected 2006 officers and reviewed its goals for the year.

The board named Fairfax County Board of Supervisors Chairman Gerald Connolly chairman; Falls Church City council member David Snyder, vice chairman; and Alexandria Mayor William Euille, secretary/treasurer. The board also reappointed Fairfax County Board of Supervisors’ T. Dana Kauffman and Arlington County Board member Chris Zimmerman to represent the commission on the Washington Metropolitan Area Transportation Authority (WMATA) board.

The newly elected officers will help NVTC identify dedicated transit funding sources, prioritize transit allocations and oversee systems, such as WMATA and Virginia Railway Express.

The commission’s objectives for 2006 include obtaining dedicated funding for WMATA — including at least $1.5 billion in federal funds over 10 years and a quarter-cent regional sales tax — and significant increases in statewide transportation funding, as well as managing transit demonstration projects and planning studies.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 1/12/2006