Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Railroading People


Rail News: Railroading People

NTSB's Hart wraps up chairmanship; Dinh-Zarr named acting chairman

Christopher Hart and Bella Dinh-Zarr
Photo – NTSB


Christopher Hart's term as chairman of the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) concluded as scheduled earlier this week.

Vice Chairman Bella Dinh-Zarr was tapped to serve as acting chairman, the NTSB announced earlier this week. Hart will remain as a board member.

Hart's tenure as the NTSB's 13th chairman began in March 2015, after President Barack Obama nominated him in January of that year.

Before that, Hart also served as the NTSB's acting chairman for nearly a year.

Dinh-Zarr began her tenure as vice chairman in March 2015. Prior to her time at the NTSB, she served as director of the U.S. Office of the FIA Foundation, an international philanthropy organization that promotes safe and sustainable transportation.

The NTSB is composed of five members, each nominated by the president and confirmed by the U.S. Senate to serve five-year terms. By law, a board member is designated by the president as chairman and another as vice chairman for two-year terms.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 3/17/2017