Progressive Railroading


Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

All fields are required.

Rail News Home Railroading People


Rail News: Railroading People

MARTA, SORTA announce board leadership changes

The Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority's (MARTA) board will welcome four new members next month.

They are Roberta Abdul-Salaam, a former state representative who led Friends of Clayton Transit in Clayton County, Ga.; Jerry Griffin, former executive director of the Association County Commissioners of Georgia; Chris Tomlinson, executive director of the Georgia Regional Transportation Authority and the State Road and Tollway Authority; and Russell McMurry, the newly appointed commissioner for the Georgia Department of Transportation.

Abdul-Salaam and Griffin were appointed by the Clayton County Board of Commissioners and will be voting members on MARTA's board.

Meanwhile, the Southwest Ohio Regional Transit Authority (SORTA) has re-elected Jason Dunn as chair and Ken Reed as vice chair for 2015.

Dunn is director of director of multicultural affairs and community development for the Cincinnati USA Convention & Visitors Bureau. Reed is manager of loss control services for the Ohio Transit Risk Pool.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 1/26/2015