Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Railroading People


Rail News: Railroading People

American port association pegs Hahn, Poe as 'Port Persons of the Year'


The American Association of Port Authorities (AAPA) has named U.S. Reps. Janice Hahn (D-Calif.) and Ted Poe (R-Texas) its 2013 "Port Persons of the Year." The association will honor the lawmakers at its annual spring conference to be held March 18-19 in Washington, D.C.

AAPA is recognizing Hahn and Poe for their strong commitment to advancing port industry issues and for co-founding the PORTS Caucus, which brings together lawmakers from across the political spectrum to work together on strengthening and securing the nation's seaports, AAPA officials said in a prepared statement. The PORTS Caucus now includes more than 50 U.S. House members.

"Both Congresswoman Hahn and Congressman Poe have displayed extraordinary leadership in bringing together representatives from both sides of the aisle to address the needs of our ports nationwide," said AAPA President and Chief Executive Officer Kurt Nagle.

Hahn represented the Port of Los Angeles for 10 years as a city councilwoman, and in July 2011 was elected to Congress in a special election. She was re-elected in November 2012. Poe was elected to Congress in 2004 and serves on the House Judiciary and Foreign Affairs committees.

Prior Port Person of the Year award winners include Rep. John Mica (R-Fla.), Sen. Tom Carper (D-Del.), Rep. Jane Harman (D-Calif.), Sen. Robert Byrd (D-W.Va.), Sen. Susan Collins (R-Maine) and former U.S. Transportation Secretary Norman Mineta.