Progressive Railroading


Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

All fields are required.

Rail News Home Passenger Rail


Rail News: Passenger Rail

DART elects board leaders; Obama tabs Amtrak board members

Dallas Area Rapid Transit’s (DART) board has named Dallas businessman William Velasco chairman. He has served on the board since 2001.

Owner of Velasco Tax and Insurance, Velasco is past president of La Calle Diez Community Corp., and a founding member of the Winnetka Heights Historical District and Oak Cliff Development Corp.

DART’s board also elected John Danish vice chairman; Scott Carlson, secretary; and Loretta Ellerbe, assistant secretary. They will serve one-year terms.

Both attorneys, Danish and Carlson joined the board in 2005 and 2003, respectively. A former Plano city council member, Ellerbe was appointed to the board last year.

Meanwhile, President Obama last week nominated Bert DiClemente and Anthony Coscia to serve on Amtrak’s board. DiClemente is vice president of real estate firm CB Richard Ellis Inc., and Coscia is chairman of the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 10/16/2009