Progressive Railroading


Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

All fields are required.

Rail News Home Rail Industry Trends


Rail News: Rail Industry Trends

NS runs Harriman gold winning streak to 17-straight years

Another year, another gold Harriman for Norfolk Southern Corp. Yesterday, the Class I won the E.H. Harriman Memorial Safety Awards’ top Group A honor for the 17th-straight year. The Association of American Railroads (AAR) presented the awards during a luncheon in Washington, D.C.

BNSF Railway Co. took the silver and CSX Transportation grabbed the bronze in Group A, which recognizes railroads whose employees worked a combined 15 million hours or more last year.

In Group B, comprising line-haul railroads whose employees worked between 4 million and 15 million hours, Canadian Pacific Railway won gold; Kansas City Southern, silver; and the Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Railroad Corp. (Metra), bronze.

In Group C, which recognizes line-haul railroads whose employees worked fewer than 4 million hours, Florida East Coast Railway took gold, Pan Am Railways grabbed silver and the Elgin, Joliet & Eastern Railway was awarded bronze.

Finally, in Group S&T (switching and terminal companies), the Terminal Railroad Association of St. Louis earned gold and Conrail won silver for the fourth-straight year. The Belt Railway Co. of Chicago took bronze.

The AAR also presented special certificates of commendation for continuous safety performance improvement to BNSF, Conrail, Metra and The Texas Mexican Railway Co.

Harrimans are based on the lowest casualty rates per 200,000 employee-hours worked — a formula that takes into account the volume of work performed, as well as the number of fatalities, injuries and occupational illnesses confirmed by the Federal Railroad Administration.

The late Mary W. Harriman founded the awards in 1913 to memorialize her husband, railroad pioneer Edward H. Harriman. The awards currently are administered by the E.H. Harriman Memorial Awards Institute, with support from the Mary W. Harriman Foundation.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 5/17/2006