Progressive Railroading


Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

All fields are required.

Rail News Home Railroading People


Rail News: Railroading People

WTS International reveals annual award winners, names Swaim-Staley 'woman of the year'

WTS International yesterday announced its woman of the year for 2013 is Beverley Swaim-Staley, president and chief executive officer of the Union Station Redevelopment Corp. (USRC).

"Beverley Swaim-Staley's efforts for women and minorities in the transportation industry are a testament to her passion for workforce development, a mission aligned with WTS International's goals," said WTS President and CEO Marcia Ferranto in a prepared statement.

Prior to her current post at USRC, Swaim-Staley was the first woman to be appointed transportation secretary for Maryland. While there, she directed initiatives to ensure the state's national prominence in minority business development by enhancing the state's Minority Business Enterprise Program. She also developed the first office within the Maryland Department of Transportation dedicated to addressing equity and diversity.

The association for the professional advancement of women in transportation also named four other women or organizations that will be recognized in May at the WTS Annual Conference in Philadelphia for their contributions to the transportation industry and helping to advance women and other minorities in the profession.

The honorees are: Lupe Harriger, former senior transportation planner at the Arizona Department of Transportation, as member of the year; HDR Engineering as employer of the year; the Ann Richards School for Young Women, the Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award winner; and the Presidio Parkway Project, the Innovative Transportation Solutions Award winner.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 3/15/2013