Progressive Railroading

Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.


Rail News Home Railroading People


Rail News: Railroading People

Valley Metro boards elect new officers

Left to right: Valley Metro RPTA Chair Kevin Hartke and Rail Chair Robin Arredondo-Savage.
Photo – Chandler, Tempe


The Valley Metro Regional Public Transportation Authority (RPTA) and Valley Metro Rail boards earlier this week elected new officers to serve a one-year term ending June 30, 2020. 

Kevin Hartke, mayor of Chandler, Arizona, was elected chair of the RPTA board, which governs multi-modal transit services in the greater Phoenix area. Phoenix Mayor Kate Gallego was elected vice chair and Peoria Councilmember Jon Edwards was elected treasurer. 

Meanwhile, Tempe Councilmember Robin Arredondo-Savage was elected chair of the Valley Metro Rail board and Mesa Councilmember Francisco Heredia was elected vice chair. The board plans, constructs, operates and maintains light-rail and high-capacity systems in the greater Phoenix area. 

The Audit and Finance Subcommittee, which provides policy oversight of expanded financial activities, includes Lauren Tolmachoff, a Glendale councilmember, Bill Stipp, vice mayor of Goodyear, Heredia, Gallego and Arredondo-Savage. 

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 7/5/2019