Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Railroading People


Rail News: Railroading People

LRIW recognizes TTCI's Stabler as 'Woman of the Year'

TTCI President Lisa Stabler is the LRIW's 2017 Outstanding Woman of the Year.
Photo – LRIW


The League of Railway Industry Women (LRIW) today announced Transportation Technology Center Inc. (TTCI) President Lisa Stabler has been named winner of the 2017 Outstanding Woman of the Year Award.

Stabler received the award at the general session of the Railway Interchange conference now underway in Indianapolis.

Co-sponsored by Progressive Railroading, the annual award recognizes a woman who demonstrates vision, initiative, creativity and guidance in a leadership role in the rail industry; is innovative, a problem-solver and overcomes challenges; and brings consistent excellence to her organization and community.

"Lisa Stabler is a gifted engineer who has been a rail industry leader throughout her career," said LRIW President Jodi Heldt in a press release.

Stabler became president of the TTCI in 2011, after joining the organization in 2010 as vice president, operations and training. She previously was assistant vice president, quality and engineering for BNSF Railway Co., where she improved quality, advanced research and streamlined processes using the Six Sigma problem-solving method, LRIW officials said.

Earlier in her career, Stabler held key roles at General Motor's Delphi Corp. in the areas of product engineering, quality assurance and strategic planning.

Stabler's contributions to the industry as TTCI president have affected railroading across the United States and around the world, LRIW officials said. The research and testing facility advances the science of railroading and works to improve operational safety and efficiency.

"Lisa commands attention and respect from the AAR board of Directors, the federal government, elected officials and the public at large," said Association of American Railroads President and Chief Executive Officer Edward Hamberger, in his nomination letter of Stabler for the award.

Stabler has received media attention for her expertise. In July, she was featured in a Today Show segment on train safety, demonstrating TTCI's groundbreaking research into rail wheel defect detection.

LRIW will open nominations for next year's Outstanding Woman of the Year award in spring 2018. Past LRIW award winners have included MTA Metro-North Railroad's Anamaria Bonilla, Metrolinx' Mary Proc, Alaska Railroad Corp.'s Wendy Lindskoog and Norfolk Southern Corp.'s Deb Butler.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 9/18/2017