Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Railroading People


Rail News: Railroading People

BNSF names 11 board members


Yesterday, Burlington Northern Santa Fe stockholders elected 11 board members — including Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer Matthew Rose — at the railroad's annual shareholders meeting in Fort Worth, Texas.

The following were elected to one-year terms:
• Alan Boeckmann, chairman and CEO of Fluor Corp.;
• Vilma S.Martinez, a partner in law firm Munger, Tolles & Olson L.L.P.;
• Marc Racicot, a partner in law firm Bracewell & Patterson L.L.P.;
• Roy Roberts, managing director of Reliant Equity Investors L.L.C.;
• Marc Shapiro, retired vice chairman for finance, risk management and administration for J.P. Morgan Chase & Co.;
• J.C. Watts Jr., chairman of J.C. Watts Cos. L.L.C. and J.C. Watts Enterprises Inc.;
• Robert West, retired chairman of Butler Manufacturing Co.;
• J. Steven Whisler, chairman and CEO of Phelps Dodge Corp.;
• Edward Whitacre Jr., chairman and CEO of SBC Communications Inc.; and
• Michael Yanney, chairman of America First Cos. L.L.C.

Former director John J. Burns Jr., president and CEO of Alleghany Corp., did not seek re-election.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 4/22/2004