Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Railroading People


Rail News: Railroading People

AAPA honors Shelby, DeFazio with Port Person of the Year Award

U.S. Sen. Richard Shelby and U.S. Rep. Peter DeFazio
Photo –


The American Association of Port Authorities (AAPA) today will recognize U.S. Sen. Richard Shelby (R-Ala.) and U.S. Rep. Peter DeFazio (D-Ore.) with the association's Port Person of the Year Award.

The association presents the award annually to recognize policymakers whose work has made a significant contribution to public ports and maritime commerce.

“AAPA proudly celebrates Senator Shelby and Congressman DeFazio for championing legislation that has enhanced the capabilities of public ports and advanced global trade,” AAPA President and Chief Executive Officer Christopher Connor said in a news release.

The awards are being presented during AAPA's spring conference, which is being held virtually.


Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 3/17/2021