Progressive Railroading

Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

All fields are required.


Rail News Home Railroading People


Rail News: Railroading People

LRIW honors Alaska Railroad's Lindskoog as Outstanding Woman of the Year for 2014

The League of Railway Industry Women (LRIW) has named Alaska Railroad Corp. (ARRC) Vice President of Business Management and Corporate Affairs Wendy Lindskoog the winner of the 2014 Outstanding Woman of the Year Award.

Co-sponsored by Progressive Railroading, the award recognizes a woman who consistently demonstrates vision, initiative, creativity and guidance in a leadership role within her professional railway field; is innovative, a problem-solver and overcomes challenges; and brings consistent excellence to her organization and the surrounding community, according to the LRIW.

An international association that aims to provide leadership and support for the personal and professional growth of women at every level in railroading and rail-related businesses, the LRIW is honoring Lindskoog for her tenured service and contributions as a senior manager and executive for ARRC for the past 15 years. She joined the railroad in 1999 as external affairs manager.

Over the years, Lindskoog has guided the railroad's policy and activities related to government, media, community and public relations, ARRC officials said in a press release. Lindskoog’s strategic and open communications have served the railroad well as it faced multiple financial challenges in recent years that stem from the economic downturn, market dynamics, and shifting state and federal politics, they said. In her co-current role as corporate secretary, Lindskoog provides the railroad's board the information and support that's necessary to govern, ARRC officials said.

"In Wendy, one finds an exceptional talent, a thoughtful leader and an overall remarkable individual," said ARRC President and Chief Executive Officer Bill O’Leary. "We have worked together at the Alaska Railroad for the last 13 years. Over that period, Wendy has developed professionally to serve a key senior executive role for the ARRC, demonstrating versatility and commitment countless times along the way."

Lindskoog also has provided leadership and energy to several civic and community groups, including her current ongoing service as a director and officer on the boards of the Alaska Chamber of Commerce and Resource Development Council for Alaska. She also serves as a board member for the Seward Sea Life Center and as an active member of the Anchorage Athena Society.
At the national level, she has advocated for ARRC and the rail industry as an engaged member and committee participant within the American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association, Association of American Railroads and American Public Transportation Association, ARRC officials said.

"The Alaska Railroad has allowed me to reach beyond the office to participate in our industry and communities as a volunteer for a variety of activities and groups, and I’m grateful," said Lindskoog. "This award is a wonderful honor and I deeply appreciate the league’s vote of confidence. The Alaska Railroad has been an extraordinary place to hone my craft in community and government relations."

Lindskoog will be honored Sept. 22 in Montreal during the LRIW Annual Conference, which will be held in conjunction with the Railway Supply Institute (RSI)/Coordinated Mechanical Associations (CMA) 2014 + Canadian Rail Summit.

Past LRIW Outstanding Woman of the Year winners include Norfolk Southern Corp.'s Deb Butler, International Decal Management Corp.'s Tracy DeLeon, the Federal Railroad Administration's Jo Strang, Canadian Pacific's Cathryn Frankenberg, Union Pacific Railroad's Lupe Valdez and Farmrail System Inc.'s Judy Petry.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 9/16/2014