Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Passenger Rail


Rail News: Passenger Rail

Walder to take helm as N.Y. MTA's top officer; Koons and Barreiro to lead South Florida RTA's board


Yesterday, New York Gov. David Paterson appointed Jay Walder as chairman and chief executive officer of the New York Metropolitan Transportation Authority (MTA). Pending state Senate confirmation, Walder would succeed Elliott Sander, who resigned in May. MTA Long Island Rail Road President Helena Williams has been serving as MTA's interim executive director and CEO since late May.

Walder currently is a partner in McKinsey & Co.'s London office and serves as global leader of the company's infrastructure practice. He previously served MTA from 1983 to 1995 in various positions, including executive director and chief financial officer.

Walder's job history also includes a stint as managing director of finance and planning for Transport for London. He also served on the board for London's $30 billion Crossrail project.

"With Jay's ... familiarity with global transportation systems, including the MTA, he will bring new life to the organization to better serve all its customers," Paterson said in a prepared statement.

Meanwhile, the South Florida Regional Transportation Authority (SFRTA) has elected Palm Beach County Commissioner Jeff Koons chairman and Miami-Dade County Commissioner Bruno Barreiro, vice chairman. Both will serve one-year terms.

Koons has chaired the Palm Beach County Metropolitan Planning Organization since 1993.  He previously served on the board of the Regional Transportation Organization, which evolved into the SFRTA. Koons also previously completed stints as chairman and vice chairman.

Barreiro previously served on the Tri-County Commuter Rail Authority's board, and completed stints as chairman and vice chairman. He was named to SFRTA's board in 2006 and served as chairman twice from 2006 to 2007 and 2007 to 2008.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 7/15/2009