Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Intermodal


Rail News: Intermodal

IANA to honor Manning with Silver Kingpin Award


The Intermodal Association of North America (IANA) will honor American Trucking Associations Chairman David Manning with this year's Silver Kingpin Award.

The award recognizes an individual's long-term contributions to the intermodal industry. Manning, who is head of Nashville, Tennessee-based TCW Inc., will receive the award Sept. 17 during the Intermodal Expo in Long Beach, California, IANA officials said in a press release.

"Inside and outside the association, Dave's commitment to serving the industry has been tireless and focused on positive change," said IANA Chairman Adriene Bailey. "He should be commended for his broad-based and innovative contributions. We are all grateful to Dave for his service to the intermodal industry and to IANA."

As an executive at TCW, which he joined in 1985, Manning has grown the company while expanding its intermodal business. He served more than a decade on the Intermodal Interchange Executive Committee, a standing panel of IANA that administers the Uniform Intermodal Interchange Agreement.

Meanwhile, IANA's Chairman's Award will be presented to Martin Summers, CCM general manager, maintenance and administration. Summers leads IANA's Intermodal Chassis Mechanics Training Task Force and shepherds the development of 53 intermodal recommended practices produced by the group.

"The work of the task force will ultimately support and improve the quality of chassis on which the industry depends," said IANA President and Chief Executive Officer Joni Casey. "Marty deserves our thanks and recognition for his leadership throughout the process."

Past Silver Kingpin Award winners include former Union Pacific Railroad Vice President of Intermodal Operations Barry Michaels; former Norfolk Southern Railway VP of Intermodal Robert Huffman; former CSX Corp. Executive Vice President and Chief Commercial Officer Clarence Gooden; former Florida East Coast Railway President and CEO James Hertwig; and Frank Richter, Progressive Railroading's co-founder who died in 2013.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 7/31/2018