Progressive Railroading

Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

All fields are required.

Rail News Home Intermodal


Rail News: Intermodal

Jacksonville port joins 'responsible transportation' coalition; Tacoma port installs Meyer as president

The Coalition for Responsible Transportation recently announced that the Jacksonville Ports Authority has joined its efforts to collaborate with shippers, trucking companies, ocean carriers, port authorities and partner organizations to identify and implement best practices associated with reducing port-related diesel emissions.
The Port of Jacksonville, Fla. (JAXPORT) commits significant capital to improve air quality improvements across its operations and develop innovative programs to reduce emissions, authority officials said in a prepared statement. Recently, JAXPORT became one of the first Florida ports to enter into a grant partnership with the state to voluntarily further reduce diesel emissions. The grant will cover the cost to install diesel oxidation catalysts on cranes and equipment, which will reduce emissions by 10 tons per year.

"We have long been dedicated to doing our part as good stewards of the environment — whether we’re talking about air quality or the health of our river," said JAXPORT Interim Chief Executive Officer Roy Schleicher. "We see great value in the CRT's work, and we’re committed to the group’s goal of going above and beyond to reduce our impact."

Meanwhile, the Tacoma Port Commission recently named Don Meyer president to succeed Dick Marzano, who now will serve as second assistant secretary.

Meyer, who was elected to the commission in November 2009, previously was the executive director of the Foss Waterway Development Authority and a deputy executive director for the Tacoma, Wash., port.

The port's five commissioners serve four-year terms and officer positions rotate yearly. In addition to Meyer and Marzano, the other commissioners are Clare Petrich, vice president; Don Johnson, secretary; and Connie Bacon, first assistant secretary.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 1/10/2013