Progressive Railroading


Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

All fields are required.

Rail News Home Federal Legislation & Regulation


Rail News: Federal Legislation & Regulation

USDOT assigns members to National Freight Advisory Committee

The U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT) yesterday named 47 members of the new National Freight Advisory Committee (NFAC), which will provide advice and recommendations aimed at improving the national freight transportation system.

Members will serve two-year terms and meet at least three times per year. The first NFAC meeting is scheduled for June 25 at USDOT offices.

Members represent various transportation modes, geographic regions and policy areas, and include representatives from railroads, rail shippers, rail labor unions, ports and government entities.

Among the NFAC members: Patriot Rail Corp. President and CEO John Fenton; OneRail Coalition Director Ann Canby; Association of American Railroads Senior Vice President John Gray; International Brotherhood of Teamsters General President James Hoffa; UPS Ground Freight Inc. President Jack Holmes; United Transportation Union/SMART Transportation Division Assistant President John Previsich; Illinois Transportation Secretary Ann Schneider; and Port of Houston Authority Executive Director Len Waterworth.

The collaboration of stakeholders will serve to promote involvement and compliance with proposed plans and performance measures, and support the implementation of larger freight policy initiatives, USDOT officials said in a press release.

"The members of this committee understand firsthand the critical importance of freight movement, and their valuable insight will help ensure that our system is more secure and better connected," said U.S. Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 5/31/2013