Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Short Lines & Regionals


Rail News: Short Lines & Regionals

ASLRRA names President's Safety Award winners


The American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association (ASLRRA) recently named the 2020 winners of it annual President’s Safety Awards.

The 2020 awards recognize member railroads that achieved the lowest accident frequency rate based on 2019 Federal Railroad Administration data. Categorized based on the number of injury-free manhours worked, the winners will be honored during the ASLRRA’s virtual Connections convention to be held Oct. 5-9.

The President’s Safety Award winners in the Southern Region are:
• Railserve Inc. (250,000 to 500,000 manhours)
• Terminal Railway-Alabama State Docks (150,000 to 250,000 manhours)
• South Central Florida Express Inc. (50,000 to 150,000 manhours)
• Florida Central Railroad Co. (less than 50,000 manhours)

Eastern Region winners are:
• Providence & Worcester Railroad Co. (150,000 to 250,000 manhours)
• Buffalo & Pittsburgh Railroad Inc. (250,000 to 500,000 manhours)
• New England Central Railroad Inc. (50,000 to 150,000 manhours)
• York Railway Co. (less than 50,000 manhours)

Central Region winners are:
• Wisconsin & Southern Railroad Co. (250,000 to 500,000 manhours)
• Northern Plains Railroad Inc. (150,000 to 250,000 manhours)
• Progressive Rail-Lakeville (50,000 to 150,000 manhours)
• Rio Valley Switching Co. (less than 50,000 manhours)

And Pacific Region winners are:
• Central Oregon & Pacific Railroad (50,000 to 150,000 manhours)
• Montana Rail Link (over 500,000 manhours)
• San Joaquin Valley Railroad Co. (150,000 to 250,000 manhours)
• Trona Railway Co. (less than 50,000 manhours)

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 8/28/2020