Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Security


Rail News: Security

TSA names surface transportation security committee members


The Transportation Security Administration (TSA) recently appointed six new surface transportation industry leaders to serve on the Surface Transportation Security Advisory Committee (STSAC).

Lowell Williams, director of cybersecurity operations at the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority, is among the committee's new members.

The TSA Modernization Act of 2018 required the TSA to establish the committee to advise its administrator on surface transportation security matters. The STSAC includes up to 40 voting members, who represent surface transportation providers, users and employees.

The committee also has 14 non-voting members serving in an advisory capacity from the U.S. departments of defense, energy, homeland security and transportation, the Federal Bureau of Investigation and the National Transportation Safety Board.

In addition to Williams, the committee's new appointees are Jared Cassity of SMART Transportation; Peter Grandgeorge of Berkshire Hathaway Energy; Brian Harrell of AVANGRID; Norma Krayem of Van Scoyoc Associates; and Robert Mims of Southern Co. Gas.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 11/30/2021