Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Rail Industry Trends


Rail News: Rail Industry Trends

San Diego transit system chair Williams named 'Transit Board Member of the Year' by APTA


The American Public Transportation Association (APTA) recently named San Diego’s Metropolitan Transit System (MTS) Chair Leon Williams "Outstanding Transit Board Member of the Year." He will receive the award Oct. 12 at the association’s annual meeting in Atlanta.

The award honors an individual serving on a public transportation system’s governing board who has helped advance the public transportation industry.

Williams has served on the San Diego Metropolitan Transit Development Board since it was established in 1976, serving as chair since 1994. During that time, Williams helped develop the San Diego Trolley system and unify the city’s transit services in 1985 by creating MTS, according to a prepared statement.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 9/20/2004