Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Rail Industry Trends


Rail News: Rail Industry Trends

More than 200 small roads receive "Jake" safety awards


American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association (ASLRRA) Sept. 10 announced that 191 railroads have won the 2000 Jake Award with Distinction, and 18 railroads, the 2000 Jake Award.

The Jake Award — created in 1994 by Copper Basin Railway President and Chief Operating Officer L.S. "Jake" Jacobson — recognizes regionals and short lines that last year maintained perfect safety records, reporting no fatalities or injuries. The Jake Award with Distinction is awarded to railroads that last year registered no fatalities, injuries or train accidents.

"This award recognizes the people out there in blue jeans that do the right thing by working safely," said Jacobson in a prepared statement. "It's important that the rest of the world know the incredible safety record of our railroads."