Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Rail Industry Trends


Rail News: Rail Industry Trends

Farmrail's Betke joins STB grain car council


The Surface Transportation Board (STB) recently appointed Farmrail System Inc. Chief Executive Officer George Betke as a short line and regional railroad representative on the National Grain Car Council (NGCC), according to the American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association (ASLRRA).

Betke, who also serves as an ASLRRA board member, joins six other short line and regional representatives on the council: Mike Haeg of RailAmerica Inc.; Kirk Hawley of Watco Cos. Inc.; Tony Long of Genesee & Wyoming Inc.; Dennis Miller of Iowa Interstate Railroad Ltd.; Ed Sims of Kenton Grain Co.’s railroad; and Sharon Trudell of the Red River Valley & Western Railroad Co.

The NGCC serves as an advisory group on issues affecting grain transportation by rail. The council’s 42 members include the three STB commissioners and representatives from Class Is, grain shippers and receivers, and private rail-car owners and manufacturers.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 8/18/2010