Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Rail Industry Trends


Rail News: Rail Industry Trends

Comtrak Logistics founder Bruns to receive IANA's Silver Kingpin Award


The Intermodal Association of North America (IANA) has named Mike Bruns as recipient of the 2010 Silver Kingpin Award. The recently retired president and founder of Comtrak Logistics Inc. will receive the award — which recognizes an individual’s contributions to the intermodal industry — during the opening general session of the 2010 Intermodal Expo to be held Nov. 14-16 in Fort Lauderdale, Fla.

Bruns founded Comtrak in 1983 in an old freight shed with a small dock office “that barely housed three employees,” IANA officials said in a prepared statement. When he retired in April, the company had generated annual revenue of $160 million and grown to 23 terminals, 1,300 owner/operators, 350 company drivers and 250 non-driver employees.

“Bruns turned a small business into an industry leader by using not only his well-honed business skills, but by building and nurturing a base of employees that considered him more like family than an employer,” IANA officials said.

Bruns has been an active IANA member for many years and was the association’s first chairman from its motor carrier division.

“He is an intermodal advocate who has played an active role in many other organizations as well,” IANA officials said, citing the ATA Intermodal Council, Traffic Club International, Society of Entrepreneurs and the University of Denver’s Intermodal Transportation Institute.

IANA and predecessor organizations have presented the Silver Kingpin Award annually since 1977. Past winners include the Hub Group Inc.’s Thomas Hardin, intermodal pioneer Gordon Miller, trucking industry duo Greg and Judy Stefflre, long-time Mi-Jack Products Inc. employee Raymond Tippit Sr., Rail Management Services Inc. President John Gray, H&M International Transportation Inc. President and Chief Operating Officer Charles Connors, and Progressive Railroading co-founder Frank Richter.