Rail Product News
Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Rail Industry Trends


Rail News: Rail Industry Trends

CPR honors chemical shippers' safety efforts in 2002


On July 15, Canadian Pacific Railway announced 17 chemical shippers as recipients of the railroad's "Chemical Shipper Safety Award" for outstanding safety performance in 2002.

Introduced in 2001, the award recognizes companies that annually ship more than 500 carloads of regulated chemicals without causing a single accidental release during loading or unloading.

"The [awards] recognize the hard work and commitment that are required to produce exceptional safety performance while handling large volumes of chemicals," said Ed Dodge, CPR executive vice president and chief operating officer, in a prepared statement.

Of the 17 winners, nine are receiving the award for the third time and five for the second time.

The winners are: ConocoPhillips Canada Ltd.; Rimbey Pipe Line Co. Ltd.; Williams Canada; Husky Energy; Moose Jaw Asphalt Inc.; ExxonMobil Oil Corp.; Celanese Canada Inc.; Nova Chemicals Corp.; DOW Chemical Canada Inc.; Nexen Chemicals; Chemtrade Logistics; NorFalco Sales Inc.; Falconbridge Ltd.; Inco Transportation; Imperial Oil; Erco Worldwide; and TeckCominco.