Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Rail Industry Trends


Rail News: Rail Industry Trends

ASLRRA announces 'Jake Award' winners, appoints Streicher to succeed long-time staffer Reilly


Yesterday, the American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association (ASLRRA) announced it will bestow 2004 Jake with Distinction Awards to 173 regionals and short lines, and 2004 Jake Awards to 32 small roads.

Jake With Distinction Awards recognize regionals and short lines that have no reportable accidents or injuries in a given year, based on Federal Railroad Administration data; Jake Awards honor small roads that have no reportable injuries. The awards were created in 1994 by Copper Basin Railway President and Chief Operating Officer L.S. "Jake" Jacobson to honor small roads’ safety efforts.

Last year, ASLRRA presented 2003 Jake With Distinction Awards to 168 regionals and short lines, and 2003 Jake Awards to 31 small roads.

ASLRRA also announced it appointed Tom Streicher general superintendent-safety and operating practices to succeed Matt Reilly, who retired April 1, ending his 17-year career with the association.

A 32-year railroading veteran, Streicher most recently served as general manager for the Canton Railroad Co. He previously held various positions with the Penn Central Railroad, and its successors Conrail and Norfolk Southern Railway, including track supervisor, general foreman, master mechanic and superintendent of operations.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 5/25/2005