Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Rail Industry Trends


Rail News: Rail Industry Trends

IANA elects chairman, bevy of board members


The Intermodal Association of North America's (IANA) board recently elected a new chairman, executive committee members and directors.

Barry Michaels was named chairman. He serves Union Pacific Railroad as assistant vice president of strategic premium operations, responsible for service design and evaluation, strategic and capital planning, asset maintenance, and strategic oversight of UP's intermodal terminals and network.

Michaels previously served the Chicago & Northwestern Railway in various operational positions, ranging from assistant manager to AVP of intermodal operations. Former chair of IANA's operations committee, he currently chairs the Association of American Railroads' intermodal working committee.

"During my career, I've had the opportunity to work in almost every part of intermodal operations — I plan to use this experience to aid IANA in advancing its mission on many fronts," said Michaels in a prepared statement.

IANA also elected Michael Wilson, VP of equipment and logistics for Hamburg-Sud North America Inc., vice chairman; and Theodore Prince, senior VP of marketing and sales for Optimization Alternatives Ltd. Inc., secretary/treasurer.

The association's newly elected directors are: Wilson; Jordan Ayers, president of XTRA Intermodal; Michael McClellan, VP of intermodal marketing for Norfolk Southern Corp.; Robert Papworth, president of intermodal systems for Matson Integrated Logistics; Patrick Valentine, director of corporate relations for Maersk Sealand; and Floyd Wright, president of Affton Trucking.

Returning board members are: Stephen Branscum, group VP, consumer products for Burlington Northern Santa Fe; Richard Coleman, president of ContainerPort Group Inc.; Samuel Farruggio, president of Farruggio's Express Inc.; Clarence Gooden, SVP, Merchandise Service Group for CSX Corp.; Douglas Payne, president of Clarke Logistics; Scott Smith, director of logistics services, Americas for APL Ltd.; Frank Sonzala, executive VP for Pressure Systems International Inc.; and Jane Felt Suter, VP for C.H. Robinson Co.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 1/26/2004