Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Rail Industry Trends


Rail News: Rail Industry Trends

ASLRRA honors 340 small roads' safety achievements


The American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association (ASLRRA) has named winners of its coveted President's Awards, Jake Awards with Distinction and Jake Awards, which honor small railroads’ safety achievements.

On April 27, a record 340 railroads will receive awards — which are sponsored by BNSF Railway Co., CSX Transportation, Norfolk Southern Corp. and Union Pacific Railroad — during ASLRRA’s annual convention in Las Vegas.

“We are proud of the success that the small railroad industry continues to have in the field of employee safety,” said ASLRRA President Richard Timmons in a prepared statement. “These 340 railroads exemplify the commitment to excellence that the rail industry is known for.”

The association will present President's Awards to seven railroads to recognize their “exemplary safety accomplishments” in 2008 and over extended time periods. Four roads earned the awards for reaching 34 straight years without an FRA-reportable personal injury: the Delta Valley & Southern Railway Co.; Hollis & Eastern Railroad Co.; Louisville, New Albany & Corydon Railroad; and Omaha Lincoln & Beatrice Railway Co.

Willamette & Pacific Railroad Inc. (WPRR) will receive two President's Awards — only the second time in the award’s history that has occurred, ASLRRA said. WPRR earned awards for achieving the lowest Frequency/Severity Index (FSI) in the 250,000-plus manhours category and for logging the most manhours while maintaining a zero FSI.

ASLRRA also will present a President’s Award to the Indiana Harbor Belt Railroad Co. for logging the most manhours below the industry average FSI and the Most Improved Award to the West Texas and Lubbock Railway Co. for achieving the greatest safety improvement from the previous year.

Meanwhile, the association will bestow Jake Awards with Distinction to 235 railroads that achieved a zero FSI in 2008 and Jake Awards to 105 railroads that attained an FSI below the industry average of 20.26.

Winners will receive this year’s Jake Pin, which again is sponsored by insurance firm Zurich.

For a complete list of Jake award winners, follow this link, then click on the news item under “Hot Tracks.”

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 4/1/2009