Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Railroading People


Rail News: Railroading People

SMART Transportation Division promotes four officers


The SMART Transportation Division announced four promotions last week associated with the retirement of President Mike Futhey and Transportation Division Board of Appeals member Don Seyer.

The union promoted Doyle Turner from alternate vice president to vice president; Chad Adams, from executive board alternate to alternate vice president; John Whitaker III, from a general chairperson to executive board alternate; and Tessa Burkle, from North Dakota State Legislative Board secretary to board of appeals member.

While serving as the transportation division's assistant president, John Previsich also held one of the division's vice president positions. When he was elevated to president following Futhey's retirement in late September, the VP post became vacant. Turner now fills the vacancy, division officials said in a news item posted on the union's website.

Turner previously served as a local chairperson, general chairperson, alternate vice president and second alternate vice president-East.

Adams was appointed alternate to the executive board by the board of directors last year. He previously was a general chairperson and local delegate.

Whitaker had served as a general chairperson since January 2011, and Burkle previously served as the North Dakota state legislative director and a local chairperson.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 10/28/2013