Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Railroading People


Rail News: Railroading People

Rising Stars to be honored today in virtual ceremony


During a virtual celebration, Progressive Railroading today will recognize 25 North American rail industry professionals who will receive the 2021 Rising Stars Award.

The celebration will be held at 3 p.m. Eastern time and will be live-streamed on Progressive Railroading's Facebook page. To register to attend the program, click on this link.

This is the ninth year Progressive Railroading has sponsored the Rising Stars Awards program. The magazine defines a Rising Star as someone under the age of 40 who has made, or is making, a positive impact on his or her company, organization, department or team, and is viewed by others — peers, colleagues, supervisors, clients or associates — as an up-and-coming leader in the rail industry.

During a nomination process that lasted several months, Progressive Railroading readers submitted more than 215 nominations of individuals who work for Class Is, regionals, short lines, passenger railroads, transit agencies, government, academic institutions, engineering firms, contractors and suppliers.

The award winners were chosen based on their contributions to railroading, as well as their career achievements, demonstrated leadership, professional association activity or community involvement. Their stories can be read on and will be published in the magazine's September issue.

The 25 Rising Stars and the organizations they work for are:

Harrison Armstrong, R.J. Corman Railroad Group LLC
Troy Banks, New Orleans Public Belt Railroad
Stephani Bazata, Union Pacific Railroad
Christopher Bennett, CSX
Mohit Bhat, CN
Erika Bruhnke, RailPros
Amanda DeCesare, CSX
Judith Espino Gonzalez, Kansas City Southern de Mexico
Antonio Frazier, Union Pacific Railroad
Carl Garrison, Union Pacific Railroad
Matt Hemsath, Archer Western Construction LLC
Kimberly Howe, Siemens Mobility
Brian Lapp, New Jersey Transit
Joangelie Lind, Florida East Coast Railway
Laura Mason, Amtrak
Charlie Monte Verde, Genesee Valley Transportation
Preston Nelson, Watco
Andrea Niethold, CN
Nicole Ochroch, Port Authority Transit Corp.
Marcus Parrott, BNSF Railway Co.
Ashley Reid, Canadian Pacific
Kristen Scully, Canadian Pacific
Nick Troutman, Pioneer Railcorp
Carmen Wallace, Kansas City Southern
Sean Winkler, Tai Ginsberg & Associates LLC

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 7/20/2021