Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »

Rail News Home Railroading People


Rail News: Railroading People

New York Senate confirms new, returning MTA board members


The Metropolitan Transportation Authority in New York City last week welcomed six new and three returning board members following their confirmation by the New York State Senate.

The six new board members are Lisa Sorin, Midori Valdivia, Frankie Miranda, Sherif Solimon, Sammy Chu and Bianca Lopez. Returning members are David Mack, Harold Porr and Frank Borelli Jr.

The 21 board members are nominated by the governor, New York City mayor and executives of the seven counties surrounding the city's boroughs. The board also has six rotating nonvoting seats held by representatives from unions and the Permanent Citizens Advisory Committee.

"The authority is focused on using innovative strategies to bring riders back to mass transit and to secure new sources of revenue to address a looming multimillion dollar budget deficit," said MTA Chair and CEO Janno Lieber. "The six new and three returning members represent our diverse ridership, and I look forward to working with them to make using the MTA's services more reliable, accessible and affordable for all customers."

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 6/6/2022