Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Railroading People


Rail News: Railroading People

League of Railway Industry Women seeks nominees for 'Outstanding Woman of the Year'


The League of Railway Industry Women (LRIW) is seeking nominations for its 2013 "Outstanding Woman of the Year" award.

Any woman who works in the North American rail industry and is considered an "unsung hero" by her peers is eligible to receive the award, according to LRIW. The award is co-sponsored by Progressive Railroading.

Past winners include International Decal Management Corp.'s Tracy DeLeon, the Federal Railroad Administration's Jo Strang, Canadian Pacific's Cathryn Frankenberg, Union Pacific Railroad's Lupe Valdez and Farmrail System Inc.'s Judy Petry.

Nomination forms can be downloaded from LRIW's website. Nominations will be accepted until Aug. 1. The winner will be recognized at LRIW's annual luncheon, which will be held Sept. 30 in Indianapolis during Railway Interchange 2013.

The LRIW Scholarship Program also is accepting applications. The organization awards three $3,000 scholarships to the best-qualified candidates. All applicants must be entering at least their sophomore year to qualify. (Note: Consecutive winners are not allowed — anyone who was a winner of a 2012 scholarship will not be eligible in 2013.) Scholarship packets can be downloaded here. The 2013 application deadline is July 1.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 6/10/2013