Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Railroading People


Rail News: Railroading People

LRIW accepting 'Woman of the Year' nominations until Aug. 15


The League of Railway Industry Women (LRIW), an organization that promotes women in railroading, has extended its deadline to Aug. 15 for nominations for its Woman of the Year Award.

Co-sponsored by Progressive Railroading, the award recognizes women who have made significant contributions to the rail industry through their leadership, dedication and vision.

Any woman who works in the North American rail industry is eligible to receive the award.

Nomination criteria call for a nominee who:
• consistently demonstrates vision, initiative, creativity and guidance in a leadership role within her professional railway field;
• is innovative and overcomes challenges;
• is a problem-solver; and
• brings consistent excellence to her organization and the surrounding community.

Nomination forms are available on LRIW's website.

Past winners include GO Transit’s Mary Proc, Alaska Railroad Corp.'s Wendy Lindskoog, Norfolk Southern Corp.'s Deb Butler, International Decal Management Corp.'s Tracy DeLeon, the Federal Railroad Administration's Jo Strang, Canadian Pacific's Cathryn Frankenberg, Union Pacific Railroad's Lupe Valdez and Farmrail System Inc.'s Judy Petry.

The 2016 recipient will be honored Oct. 3 at the keynote/opening session of RSI/CMA 2016 Rail Expo & Technical Conference in conjunction with the LRIW's 2016 Annual Conference.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 7/21/2016