Progressive Railroading


Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

All fields are required.

Rail News Home Railroading People


Rail News: Railroading People

Deadline extension: LRIW 'Outstanding Woman of the Year' nominations now due Aug. 15

The League of Railway Industry Women (LRIW) has extended the deadline for nominating "Outstanding Woman of the Year" candidates. Nominations for the award now are due Aug. 15; nomination forms can be downloaded from LRIW's website.

Any woman who works in the North American rail industry is eligible to receive the award, which is co-sponsored by Progressive Railroading. Nomination criteria, according to LRIW's website, are:

• "She consistently demonstrates vision, initiative, creativity and guidance in a leadership role within her professional railway field."

• "She is innovative, a problem-solver and overcomes challenges."

• "She brings consistent excellence to her organization and the surrounding community."

The 2014 recipient will be honored Sept. 22 during the LRIW Annual Conference, which will be held in conjunction with the Railway Supply Institute (RSI)/Coordinated Mechanical Associations (CMA) 2014 + Canadian Rail Summit. The RSI/CMA 2014 + Canadian Rail Summit will be held Sept. 21-23 at the Palais des congrès de Montréal (Montréal Convention Center).
For more information about the award, contact LRIW Woman of the Year Chair Sally Boven at

Past Outstanding Woman of the Year winners include Norfolk Southern Corp.'s Deb Butler, International Decal Management Corp.'s Tracy DeLeon, the Federal Railroad Administration's Jo Strang, Canadian Pacific's Cathryn Frankenberg, Union Pacific Railroad's Lupe Valdez and Farmrail System Inc.'s Judy Petry.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 8/4/2014