Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Railroading People


Rail News: Railroading People

APTA recognizes transit agencies, 10 individuals for excellence


At its annual meeting yesterday in Houston, the American Public Transportation Association (APTA) honored several transit agencies and individuals for demonstrating excellence in leadership and advancing the state of public transportation in North America.

Among agencies receiving 2014 APTA Awards were the Capital Metropolitan Transportation Authority (Capital Metro) of Austin, Texas, the Regional Transportation District of Denver (RTD) and Utah Transit Authority (UTA), APTA officials announced in a press release.

Receiving Innovation Awards were Capital Metro for implementing a comprehensive employee wellness program, and RTD for its in-depth educational workforce development programs.

UTA was honored with the Outstanding Public Transportation System Achievement Award for providing bus, light-rail, commuter-rail, streetcar, bus rapid transit, vanpool and bike and car share services to Salt Lake City and five surrounding counties. Fifteen years ago, UTA had no transit-rail service. By 2013's end, the agency had opened its 11th rail project, completing 140 miles of light-rail, commuter-rail and streetcar lines.

Individuals receiving 2014 awards were Ronald Tober and Rod Diridon Sr., who received Hall of Fame Awards; Paul Jablonski, chief executive officer of San Diego Metropolitan Transit System, Outstanding Public Transportation Manager Award; U.S. Rep. Ed Pastor (D-Ariz.), Local Distinguished Service Award; U.S. Sen. Barbara Boxer (D-Calif.) and U.S. Rep. Tom Petri (R-Wis.), National Distinguished Service Award; George Smerk Jr. and Vukan Vuchic, Lifetime of Academic Distinction Award; Pasquale Deon Sr., chairman of the Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority, Outstanding Public Transportation Board Member Award; and Raul Bravo, Outstanding Public Transportation Business Member Award.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 10/15/2014