Rail Product News
Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Railroading People


Rail News: Railroading People

League of Railway Women seeks 'Woman of the Year' nominees

League of Railway's 2018 Woman of the Year Corina Moore
Photo – League of Railway Women


The League of Railway Women (LRW) has opened nominations for its 2019 Railway Woman of the Year Award, which is co-sponsored by Progressive Railroading.

For two decades, the LRW has recognized women who have made significant contributions to the rail industry through their leadership, dedication and vision. Women working in the North American rail industry are eligible to receive the award, LRW officials said in a press release.

“The award is a great way to showcase the opportunities that exist for women leaders in the industry, and I am proud to have been a recipient," said Corina Moore, president and chief executive officer of Ontario Northland and the 2018 Railway Woman of the Year. "This important organization and award recognize and support the growth of women in rail, advancing the impact and strength of women in the workplace."

Nomination criteria and the online nomination form are available on the LRW website. Nominations will be open until Aug. 16.

The league's newly formed Railway Woman of the Year Advisory Committee has streamlined the nomination process, said LRW Awards Chair Lisa Tackach.

LRW is seeking nominations for an outstanding woman in rail who demonstrates vision and creativity; takes initiative; provides guidance in a leadership role; overcomes challenges with innovative solutions; and brings excellence to her organization and community.

LRW will formally announce this year's recipient Sept. 23 at the General Session of Railway Interchange 2019 at the Minneapolis Convention Center in Minneapolis.

In addition to Moore, past award winners include Transportation Technology Center Inc.’s Lisa Stabler (2017); MTA Metro-North Railroad’s Anamaria Bonilla (2016), Metrolinx/GO Transit’s Mary Proc (2015), Alaska Railroad Corp.’s Wendy Lindskoog (2014) and Norfolk Southern Corp.’s Deb Butler (2013).