Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Railroading People


Rail News: Railroading People

Progressive Railroading names 25 Rising Stars for 2019


Today, Progressive Railroading announces the names of 25 people chosen for recognition as the Rising Stars of the North American railroad industry in 2019.

This is the seventh year that Progressive Railroading has sponsored the Rising Stars Awards program. The magazine defines a Rising Star as someone under the age of 40 who has made, or is making, a positive impact on his or her company, organization, department or team, and is viewed by others — peers, colleagues, supervisors, clients or associates — as an up-and-coming leader in the rail industry.

During a nomination process that lasted several months, Progressive Railroading readers submitted more than 120 nominations of individuals who work for Class Is, regionals, short lines, passenger railroads, transit agencies, government, agencies, academic institutions, engineering firms and suppliers.

This year, the magazine is recognizing 25 young leaders for their achievements, up from 20 in previous years. Also, this is the first year that award recipients were selected from all three North American countries.

The award winners were chosen based on their contributions to the railroad industry, career achievements, demonstrated leadership, professional association activity or community involvement. Their stories will be profiled on this summer and published in the magazine's September issue.

In addition, the Rising Stars of 2019 will be honored at a dinner to be held July 22 in Norfolk, Virginia, during the American Association of Railroad Superintendents' 2019 Annual Meeting.

The Rising Stars for 2019 and the organizations they work for are:

Terry Atkinson, Union Pacific Railroad
Cathrin Banks, Maryland and Delaware Railroad Co.
Matt Bell, National Railroad Construction and Maintenance Association
Jeffrey Brantz, Metra
Kelley Carr, Amtrak
Landon Downes, Balfour Beatty Rail
Mickaela Doyle, Watco Cos. LLC
Shannon Emberly, CN
Sara Garza Gonzalez, Kansas City Southern de Mexico
Crystal Gitchell, American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association
Dustin Hall, Security Through Safe Design Inc.
Linda Hernandez , Kansas City Southern de Mexico
Kimia Khatami, Pacific Harbor Line Inc.
Amanda Limburg, David Evans and Associates Inc.
Nicolas Mabboux, CN
Jessica Mefford-Miller, Metro Transit-St. Louis
Brian O'Donnell, Metro-North Railroad
Luke Olson, Loram Maintenance of Way Inc.
Shirley Qian, Capitol Corridor Joint Powers Authority
Audra Rodgers, AECOM
Devin Rouse, Federal Railroad Administration
Katie Sanders, Union Pacific Railroad
Scott Schiemann, Indiana Harbor Belt Railroad Co.
James Schwichtenberg, CSX
Amanda Trainor Patrick, Rail Supply Institute