Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Railroading People


Rail News: Railroading People

AAR, GoRail honor Denham with Railroad Achievement Award

Denham (right, with Nate Kaplan) was recognized for continued leadership on issues affecting freight and passenger railroads.
Photo – AAR


U.S. Rep. Jeff Denham (R-Calif.), a senior member of the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee, last week received the Railroad Achievement Award from the Association of American Railroads (AAR) and GoRail.

Denham — who chairs the Subcommittee on Railroads, Pipelines and Hazardous Materials — was recognized for his "continued leadership on issues affecting both freight and passenger railroads," according to an AAR press release.

The award is given to members of Congress who show leadership on policies that help ensure the vitality of railroads in the United States.

"California's diverse and enormous economy remains closely linked to overall U.S. competitiveness, and freight railroads continue to provide a safe, reliable and sustainable form of transportation for getting goods to and from market," said AAR President and Chief Executive Officer Edward Hamberger. "Chairman Denham has long understood this reality and, to the benefit of his constituents, he has legislated in a manner that allows for the industry to provide the greatest public impact."

Nate Kaplan, California state director for GoRail, noted the safety enhancements made possible through the Fixing America's Surface Transportation (FAST) Act of 2015, including an increased standard for tank cars carrying hazardous materials.

The FAST Act was created in large part by Denham, Kaplan noted.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 8/6/2018