Progressive Railroading

Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Railroading People


Rail News: Railroading People

AASHTO elects Tennessee DOT's Schroer president

John Schroer
Photo – Tennessee Department of Transportation


The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials' (AASHTO) board yesterday elected Tennessee Department of Transportation Commissioner John Schroer as the association's president.

At the association's annual meeting this week, the board also elected Utah Department of Transportation Executive Director Carlos Braceras as vice president, and Arkansas Department of Transportation Director Scott Bennett as secretary-treasurer.

Schroer was appointed Tennessee DOT commissioner in January 2011. He served in several top committee positions at the association, including chairman of the AASHTO Standing Committee on Finance and Administration and chair of the association's Strategic Management Committee.

"One of my goals will be to make sure that AASHTO is on the cutting-edge of innovation, to ensure states are ready to meet the many challenges that new transportation technologies will bring," said Schroer in a press release.

Schroer said he wants to focus on the issue of sustainable funding at the federal level and will encourage Congress to explore all available revenue options. Schroer hopes to lead the efforts of AASHTO and state departments of transportation to work with the Trump administration and Congress to enact an infrastructure package and a new long-term transportation reauthorization bill.

Prior to joining Tennessee DOT, Schroer was mayor of his hometown of Franklin, Tennessee.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 9/29/2017