Progressive Railroading


Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

All fields are required.

Rail News Home Railroading People


Rail News: Railroading People

Former KCS leader Mike Haverty to receive NIT League's McCullough Award

The National Industrial Transportation League (NITL) has announced it will present the 2014 McCullough Award to Kansas City Southern Chairman Emeritus Mike Haverty at the closing of its annual conference and exhibition in Fort Lauderdale, Fla., on Nov. 19.

The McCullough Award is presented annually by NITL's board and Logistics Management magazine to recognize a logistics executive of the year. The award is named after John T. McCullough, a former chief editor of Distribution magazine, a Logistics Management predecessor.

Haverty was chosen as the award winner to honor his record of excellence and breakthrough achievements throughout his 50-year career in the U.S. rail industry, NITL officials said in a press release. His career began in 1963 as a brakeman/switchman for the Missouri Pacific Railroad and ended in 2013 when he retired as executive chairman of KCS, chairman of the Kansas City Railway Co. and Kansas City Southern de México S.A. de C.V., and co-chairman of the Panama Canal Railway Co.

Haverty received many prestigious awards during his career, including Progressive Railroading magazine’s Railroad Innovator Award in 2011. He was inducted into the National Railroad Hall of Fame in June 2012.

"Mike Haverty’s accomplishments in railroading earned our respect long ago. My fellow board members and I are delighted to salute him with our McCullough Award," said NITL Chairman Matt Ehlinger.

Founded in 1907, NITL is the nation’s largest and oldest association representing shippers' interests in both domestic and international commerce in all transportation modes.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 11/3/2014