Progressive Railroading


Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

All fields are required.

Rail News Home Railroading People


Rail News: Railroading People

League of Railway Industry Women seeks nominees for 2014 Outstanding Woman of the Year

The League of Railway Industry Women (LRIW) is seeking nominations for its 2014 "Outstanding Woman of the Year" award.

Any woman who works in the North American rail industry is eligible to receive the award, which is co-sponsored by Progressive Railroading. Nomination criteria, according to the LRIW website, are:
• "She consistently demonstrates vision, initiative, creativity and guidance in a leadership role within her professional railway field."

• "She is innovative, a problem-solver and overcomes challenges."

• "She brings consistent excellence to her organization and the surrounding community."

Past winners include Norfolk Southern Corp.'s Deb Butler, International Decal Management Corp.'s Tracy DeLeon, the Federal Railroad Administration's Jo Strang, Canadian Pacific's Cathryn Frankenberg, Union Pacific Railroad's Lupe Valdez and Farmrail System Inc.'s Judy Petry.

Nomination forms can be downloaded from LRIW's website. Nominations will be accepted until July 31.

The 2014 recipient will be honored Sept. 22 during the LRIW Annual Conference, which will be held in conjunction with the Railway Supply Institute (RSI)/Coordinated Mechanical Associations (CMA) 2014 + Canadian Rail Summit. The RSI/CMA 2014 + Canadian Rail Summit will be held Sept. 21-23 at the Palais des congrès de Montréal (Montréal Convention Center).
For more information, contact LRIW Woman of the Year Chair Sally Boven at

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 7/14/2014