Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home People

January 2007

Rail News: People

People in the News (January 2007)


Class I appointments

  • BNSF Railway Co. named Jeff Moreland executive vice president, public affairs; Roger Nober, EVP, law and secretary; Mary Jo Keating, VP-corporate relations; Mark Kotter, VP-customer integration; and Nate Murray, general manager of the Southwest Division.
  • Norfolk Southern Corp. promoted Daniel Mazur to VP-strategic planning. ... Canadian National Railway Co. named Vee Kachroo assistant VP-sales and marketing, forest products.
  • Kansas City Southern named Darin Selby AVP-sales and marketing, coal business unit.

People in transit

  • The Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority named John Catoe Jr. general manager.
  • Phoenix’s Valley Metro Regional Public Transportation Authority named Christopher Curcio deputy executive director of finance; and Carol Ketcherside, deputy executive director of planning. ... The Transportation Security Administration named Paul Lennon GM for the mass transit sector.

Small-road rosters

  • Pan Am Railways named David Fink president to succeed Thomas Steiniger, who retired; Sydney Culliford, EVP; Michael Bostwick, senior VP-marketing and sales; Edwin Motte, VP-transportation; Roger Bergeron, VP-special projects; John Steiniger, AVP-engineering; and James Olson, AVP-mechanical.
  • The Watco Cos. Inc. named Mike Hamilton GM of The Great Northwest, and Palouse River and Coulee City railroads.

Federal committee

  • Congressman James Oberstar (D-Minn.) was elected chairman of the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee; John Mica (R-Fla.) will serve as the committee’s top-ranking Republican leader.

Supply side

  • Safetran Systems Corp. named Charles Ross president to succeed George Kline, who retired.
  • Schaefer Equipment named Barry Anderson VP and GM.
  • TTX Co. named Thomas Wells EVP; and Patrick Casey, VP-fleet management.
  • GATX Corp. named James Earl VP and chief operating officer; and Clifford Porzenheim, VP of strategic growth.
  • Railinc named James Clarke VP of corporate services and chief financial officer.
  • Koppers Inc. named John Heller GM of procurement, railroad products and services division.
  • ENSCO Inc. named Kevin Kesler VP of the applied technology and engineering division.
  • Kelso Technologies Inc. named Steven Cozine VP, corporate development and shareholder relations.
  • American Railcar Industries Inc. named Rich Armbruster VP of procurement.


Browse articles on BNSF Norfolk Southern Kansas City Southern John Catoe Roger Nober

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.