Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home People

September 2014

Rail News: People

BNSF's Matt Rose to speak at RailTrends


— by Pat Foran, editor

The RailTrends® 2014 speaker slate is Class I centric and, often, at C-level. Last month, BNSF Railway Co. Executive Chairman Matt Rose confirmed he will deliver an address at RailTrends, which will be held Nov. 20-21 at the W New York in New York City.

With Rose signing on, executives from all seven Class Is will present at RailTrends. The other six: Canadian Pacific President and Chief Operating Officer Keith Creel, this year's winner of the Progressive Railroading "Railroad Innovator Award" (Matt Rose received it in 2010); CN Executive Vice President and COO Jim Vena; CSX Corp. VP and Chief Transportation Officer Cindy Sanborn; Kansas City Southern EVP of Sales and Marketing Patrick Ottensmeyer; Norfolk Southern EVP of Planning and Chief Information Officer Deb Butler; and Union Pacific Railroad VP and General Manager of Industrial Products Brad Thrasher.

The short-line and regional realm also is represented on the speaker roster. Central, Maine & Quebec Railway CEO John Giles, Florida East Coast Railway President and CEO James Hertwig, Genesee & Wyoming Inc. Chief Financial Officer T.J. Gallagher and Watco Cos. L.L.C. Chief Commercial Officer Ed McKechnie will make their respective voices heard.

Ken Buenker, too, will share his insights from the lectern. He's the VP of corporate transportation services for rail's largest intermodal customer: United Parcel Service.

Other rail stakeholders, industry analysts, and association and government officials will discuss issues and talk trends. Expect constructive dialogue to rule. For program details and to register, visit

Wendy Lindskoog is LRIW's 'Woman of the Year'

The League of Railway Industry Women (LRIW) has named Alaska Railroad Corp.'s Wendy Lindskoog as the recipient of its 2014 "Outstanding Woman of the Year Award." The winner of the award, which is sponsored by Progressive Railroading, "consistently demonstrates vision, initiative, creativity and guidance in a leadership role" within her professional railway field; is "innovative" and "a problem-solver," and overcomes challenges; and "brings consistent excellence to her organization and the surrounding community," according to LRIW's nomination criteria.

Alaska Railroad's vice president of business management and corporate affairs, Lindskoog will be recognized Sept. 22 during the LRIW Annual Conference. The event will be held in conjunction with the Railway Supply Institute/Coordinated Mechanical Associations 2014 + Canadian Rail Summit. The RSI/CMA event will be held Sept. 21-23 at the Palais des congres de Montreal.

Congratulations, Wendy.


Browse articles on BNSF Matt Rose RailTrends Wendy Lindskoog Alaska Railroad League of Railway Industry Women

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.