Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Passenger Rail


Rail News: Passenger Rail

SEPTA takes top 'Rail Rodeo' honors at APTA conference


The Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority (SEPTA) received the Rail Transit Team Achievement Award at the American Public Transportation Association (APTA) International Rail Rodeo held Sunday in conjunction with the 2013 APTA Rail Conference in Philadelphia.

Also, the Charlotte Area Transit System (CATS) team won the Maintainers' Competition.

The Rail Transit Team Award is based on the highest rail operator and maintainer combined score. The winning team members were Rob Brooks, Don Chakov, Nicholas Baldassarre, Adrian Mapp and Sharon Mapp.

Eighteen North American public transportation systems competed for the award, which recognizes employees who maintain rail system safety and efficiency.

"Those who operate and maintain our public transportation systems are the backbone of our industry," said APTA President and Chief Executive Officer Michael Melaniphy in a press release. "They set out every day to make America's public transportation systems the best anywhere."

The Operators' Competition measures professional skills, including train operation, knowledge of safety regulations, train equipment, and track right-of-way rules and procedures. Taking first place were Adrian Mapp and Sharon Mapp of SEPTA, with Danai Lambert and David Becker of the Sacramento Regional Transit District in second place, and Roberta Randolph and Gregory Raspberry from the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority in third.

The Maintainers' Competition judges the ability to troubleshoot maintenance problems. The first-place CATS team was represented by Charles Truong, Patrick Mills and Eugene Capote. A Bay Area Rapid Transit team of Carl Ambrose, Edward Christian and Daniel Parris finished in second place. Sound Transit's team of Brian Shupe, James Salisbury and Jack Smith took third place.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 6/5/2013