Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Passenger Rail


Rail News: Passenger Rail

APTA recognizes 2010's top public transportation leaders


Yesterday, the American Public Transportation Association (APTA) announced the individual and organizational winners of the 2010 APTA Awards during its annual meeting in San Antonio, Texas. The awards recognize individuals and public transportation systems that have “shown great leadership and advanced the state of public transportation in North America,” APTA officials said in a prepared statement.

Three public transportation agencies, competing in three different categories based on annual ridership, were honored as the best public transportation systems in North America based on their achievements from 2007 through 2009:

• Société de transport de Montréal, in the more than 20 million annual passenger trips category;
• Tampa's Hillsborough Area Regional Transit Authority in the more than 4 million but less than 20 million annual passenger trips category; and
• Bloomington Public Transportation Corp. in Bloomington, Ind., in the 4 million or fewer annual passenger trips category.

APTA also honored the following individuals:

• Hugh Mose, general manager of Centre Area Transportation Authority in State College, Pa., received the Outstanding Public Transportation Manager Award;
• James Srygley, chief executive officer of S&A Systems Inc. in Rockwell, Texas, received the Outstanding Public Transportation Business Member Award;
• Flora Castillo, New Jersey Transit board member, received the Outstanding Public Transportation Board Member Award; and
• Mufi Hannemann, former mayor of the city and county of Honolulu, received the Local Distinguished Service Award.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 10/6/2010