Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


<< Rail News Home: News

5/6/2011    Recognition

Rail News: News

CSXT's Spatafore wins Chafee award; Quebec-Gatineau Railway's Lewerenz wins Cyr award


Yesterday, the Association of American Railroads (AAR) named CSX Transportation Division Engineer Richard Spatafore the winner of this year’s John H. Chafee Environmental Excellence Award. In addition, Sen. Ron Wyden (D-Ore.) was named the recipient of the Congressional Chafee Award, which recognizes a member of Congress who demonstrates outstanding dedication to the environment.

Named after John H. Chafee, a late Rhode Island senator who advocated for conservation and environmental causes, the Chafee award recognizes a railroad employee who demonstrated the “highest level of environmental stewardship” during the previous year, according to the AAR. Spatafore developed and implemented a “No Spike Left Behind” recycling program that strengthened the partnership between CSXT’s engineering, purchasing and environmental departments, and enhanced the railroad’s record of environmental compliance, AAR officials said in a prepared statement.

In addition, Spatafore emphasized environmental protections during all work activities, such as by using the most sustainable products available and ensuring that all of his employees attended annual environmental certification training. He recently was honored with CSXT’s first-ever Environmental Trailblazer Award for outstanding environmental sustainable leadership and was nominated for the Class I’s Chairman’s Award of Excellence Program.

Other Chafee award nominees were William Blevins, a chief mechanical and electrical engineer for CN; Michael Canevit, a materials supervisor for Union Pacific Railroad; Andrew Fox, president of the Chicago South Shore & South Bend Railroad and managing director of Pacific Harbor Line Inc.; Kevin Lopresti, a locomotive systems specialist for Canadian Pacific; Michael Lucero, a ticket clerk for Amtrak; Josh Raglin, a general manager of facilities for Norfolk Southern Railway; and Jerry Turner, an environmental representative in BNSF Railway Co.’s mechanical department.

Meanwhile, Operation Lifesaver Canada has named Quebec-Gatineau Railway Engineer Miguel Lewerenz the recipient of the 2011 Roger Cyr Award, which recognizes an individual’s efforts to raise public awareness, and promote rail and road safety.

Lewerenz is extensively involved in community outreach activities, presentations and meetings with public officials in the Trois-Rivières, Québec, region, Operation Lifesaver Canada officials said in a prepared statement. He also uses his personal time to meet with principals of the Trois-Rivières school board, various clubs and public safety officials to promote safety. Lewerenz has delivered more than 30 presentations to students at local schools and promoted rail safety during public safety events, according to Operation Lifesaver Canada.
Named after Operation Lifesaver Canada’s founder, the Roger Cyr Award is jointly administered by Operation Lifesaver Canada, the Railway Association of Canada and Transport Canada.

Related Topics: