Media Kit » Try RailPrime™ Today! »
Progressive Railroading
Newsletter Sign Up
Stay updated on news, articles and information for the rail industry

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

View Current Digital Issue »


Rail News Home Labor


Rail News: Labor

BLET verifies National Division officer elections


Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen (BLET) National Secretary-Treasurer William Walpert on Tuesday released the verified election results of National Division officers.

A total of 26 officers and alternates were elected and each will serve four-year terms beginning Jan. 1, 2015.

The newly elected top officers are Dennis Pierce, national president; E. Lee Pruitt, first vice president; Steve Bruno, national secretary-treasurer; and John Tolman, vice president and national legislative representative.

In 2010, Pierce became the first president in the BLET's 151-year history to win election by a direct vote of the membership. He was elevated to the union's highest office on July 1, 2010, following the retirement of National President Paul Sorrow.

Pierce was also elected president of the Teamsters Rail Conference in June 2010 and was re-elected to another four-year term on May 4, 2014. The conference includes the BLET and Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employes Division.

Contact Progressive Railroading editorial staff.

More News from 12/5/2014